Los Angeles: DTLA

January 18, 2016

One of my New Year’s resolutions was to update my blog more regularly. To be honest, I’m not quite sure with how I want to curate this. The idea of having my own travel blog has been on my mind for the longest time, but I’ve never been able to go to enough places in a year for me to keep the people reading my blog regularly updated. Since it’s my last semester in college before I graduate, I wanted to do something personal to keep myself sane.

I was scheduled to arrive in San Francisco at around 7pm on a Sunday night, and since I didn’t have anything else to do until school started a week after arriving, I spontaneously decided to book a trip to Los Angeles. I booked a Megabus ticket right before boarding my plane without any itinerary in mind and hoped for the best!

Once I arrived, I had a couple of hours right before my bus trip to pack everything and head to the city for my bus ride. I got on the 11:40pm bus ride to Union Station and got there at around 7 in the morning.

I hit my friend Sandy up and luckily, she was available for the day to take me around. Since I wasn’t new to the Los Angeles area at all, we had decided to just get breakfast at Grand Central Market and see what we could do for the rest of the day until I had to head back.

We headed to the Museum of Death in Hollywood after having breakfast. It was definitely worth seeing, but looking at the exhibits gave both of us chills. We were able to learn more about things like the Heaven’s Gate mass suicide in San Diego, and about the infamous artist GG Allin. Unfortunately, taking pictures weren’t allowed in the museum.

Thus ends my very spontaneous trip to Los Angeles. Sandy dropped me off at Union Station and stayed with me until my bus back to San Francisco had arrived.

IMG_2012Angel’s Flight Railway

While waiting for her to arrive, I just decided to walk around the area. I dropped by the Angel’s Flight railway, which was right in front of Grand Central.

IMG_2034Brabury Building

If you’ve seen movies like 500 Days of Summer, The Artist, or Blade Runner, you’d know that the interior of the Bradbury Building would look very familiar. You wouldn’t think that the building would look like this from the outside! Visitors are only allowed to look around and take pictures from the first floor, and one would have to have a valid reason to go up the stairs or take the elevator.

IMG_1995 IMG_1991Union Station

Union Station the main railway station in Los Angeles, and it is also a beautiful piece of architecture! I also started my LA journey here a little over a year ago when I celebrated Christmas with my aunts and uncles last 2014. I wasn’t able to take any pictures back then, though, because I stupidly left my camera’s battery back home in San Francisco.

IMG_2021 IMG_2024Eggslut

Founded in 2011, Eggslut is a concept inspired by a true love for eggs. It’s located in Grand Central Market and is easily one of the most popular establishments there. I feel like whenever any of my friends go down to Los Angeles for break, many of them would go to Eggslut just to take pictures. It’s no surprise though how popular the restaurant is — right when the market opens at 8:00am, there are already a good number of people lining up to order. I got the sausage, egg & cheese sandwich while my friend Sandy got the “slut,” a jar filled with a smooth potato purée and a poached egg served with baguette slices.

3 Comments

Add yours →

  1. oooh love this pics! I just posted about visiting Bottega Louie. I love Grand Central Market but i’ve never had Eggslut. The Almond and Macadamia Latte from G&B Coffee at GCM is amazing…def. a must try if you ever visit DTLA again!

    Like

    • Thank you! 🙂 Eggslut is definitely a must-try (and is very Instagram worthy, lol) but there definitely are a lot of other great places to eat at! Thanks for the suggestions — Los Angeles is a quick bus ride down from San Francisco for me so I’ll definitely take note and try to visit them when I do go next time!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

