Japan: Kamakura

Since I didn’t want to spend my entire trip in Tokyo, I decided to take a short day trip to a neighboring city. After some Googling, I decided to go to Kamakura. It’s located in the Kanagawa prefecture, which is just a little bit west of Tokyo. Some people call Kamakura the Kyoto of Eastern Japan because of the numerous temples and other historic points of interest in this area. It’s only about an hour away from Tokyo, so if you have some time to kill, I’d suggest that you check this place out!

Due to poor planning on my part, I had only gotten to explore two areas of Kamakura: the Hase-dera and the Kotoku-in, which houses the Great Buddha of Kamakura. I would’ve visited more parts of Kamakura if not for the rain which made going around ten times more tiring than it should have been.

IMG_6176-Edit

Kamakura Station

IMG_6199-Edit

IMG_6200-Edit

IMG_6213-Edit

IMG_6223-Edit

IMG_6230-Edit

A view of Kamakura from the Hase-dera.

IMG_6259-Edit

IMG_6280-Edit

The Great Buddha of Kamakura! To me, it’s pretty reminiscent of the Big Buddha you find in Hong Kong in Ngong Ping.

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Thanku for taking us to this beautiful place

    Like

Leave a Reply

